Zionsville Fire Department honors employees during annual ceremony



Although the Zionsville Fire Dept. was not able to host its 21st annual ZFD Firefighter’s Ball and Awards Banquet due to COVID-19 restrictions, the department gathered for a daytime event to honor firefighters for their efforts and special actions in 2020.

During the event, the ZFD announced Blake Dougherty was named Probationary Firefighter of the Year. Kellen Holt was awarded EMT of the Year. Walter Leverich was awarded Paramedic of the Year, and Lt. Steve Hayes was awarded Firefighter of the Year.

The 2020 Business Partner of the Year Award was presented to Pro Team Tactical Performance and accepted by Tim Drudge for its continued support in the health and wellness for injured firefighters.

Lt. Steve Hayes presented ZFD Division Chief Aaron Gibbons with the Zionsville Professional Firefighter’s Leadership Award for his leadership and integrity.

Lifesaving Awards were presented to firefighter/paramedic Walter Leverich, firefighter Eddie Frank, firefighter Blake Dougherty, firefighter Sean Rumple and engineer Steve Snider. The crew responded swiftly to save an 11-year-old girl with a brain bleed.

Lifesaving Awards also were given to firefighter Shane Daugherty, engineer Matt Petro, firefighter Jason Powell, firefighter Derrick Pulse, firefighter/paramedic Neil Valestin and Lt. Scott Mamaril for the rapid response and deployment of a LUCAS device, a machine that performs consistent chest compressions and lifesaving CPR. Early bystander CPR was provided on the scene, which was critical to saving the patient’s life.

A Unit Commendation Award was presented to a team of individuals that responded to a mass casualty incident on Interstate 65: firefighter Sam Alley, Lt. Jeff Beam, firefighter John Ball, firefighter Andrew Cammarata, firefighter/paramedic Joey Goltz, firefighter/paramedic Drue Goss, Deputy Chief Mark Hart, firefighter/paramedic Tad Henderson, firefighter Kellen Holt, firefighter Evan Latty, firefighter/paramedic Daniel McRoberts, Captain Brian Miller, Division Chief Jason Potts, engineer Bobby Smith, Battalion Chief Ryan Sparks, engineer Dan Stevens, Battalion Chief Lance Turner and firefighter/paramedic Abdullakh Abamislimov.

The fatal accident had multiple patients that were transported to area hospitals for additional treatment. ZFD personnel worked with the Whitestown Fire Dept., Pike Township Fire Dept. and Boone County EMS personnel.