Hamilton County Democrats elect new committee

Dayna Colbert

CIF COM 0216 HamCo United Ronnie Saunders Candidate for Hamilton County Dems Vice Chair
CIF COM 0216 HamCo United Sarah Russell Goddard Candidate for Hamilton County Dems Secretary
CIF COM 0216 HamCo United Al Moore Candidate For Hamilton County Dems Treasurer

The Hamilton County Democrats have elected a new Hamilton County Democratic Central Committee. The new committee members are Chair Dayna Colbert of Fishers, Vice Chair Ronnie Saunders of Westfield, Secretary Sarah Russell Goddard of Noblesville and Treasurer Al Moore of Carmel.

A county party reorganization was conducted via a vote by Democratic precinct committeepersons in the county.

A press release states: “Their election marks a first for the county with Colbert serving as one of the youngest chairs at 31 and as a Black woman, both key demographics that have become the backbone of the Democratic Party nationwide in its recent success at capturing the Presidency and Congress. She also becomes the third Black woman serving as a Democratic county chair in Indiana.”

“I am humbled that the precinct chairs and vice chairs are placing their trust in myself, Ronnie, Sarah and Al. We look forward to solidifying the Democratic presence here in Hamilton County,” Colbert stated. “This begins an exciting chapter for our county party as we aim to elevate leaders who are transparent, inclusive, diverse and committed to serving our communities.”

The committee is focusing on four key goals for 2021: Refreshing the message and brand to build trust for Democrats in (local) communities, increasing member recruitment while continuing to engage volunteers, growing voter outreach to encompass voter education and building community relationships and revamping the candidate recruitment and training processes so quality candidates have the opportunity to succeed.