New mayor, councilors join town council


By Audrey Bailey

A new mayor, town judge and four council members were sworn into office at the Jan. 4 Zionsville Town Council meeting.

Tim Haak officially became the town’s first elected mayor. Jeff Papa, who had been serving as mayor since June, is once again a member of the town council.

“We couldn’t have a better mayor for the next four years,” Papa said. “Nobody works harder, nobody cares more about this town than Tim.”

Bryan Traylor, Joshua Garrett and Kevin Spees joined the council for their first terms. Erika Singler was sworn in as town judge.

Susana Suarez and Elizabeth Hopper, who both won reelection bids in 2015, became the new council president and vice president, respectively.

In other business, the council postponed a vote on a resolution on establishing the Whitestown 334/700 East Development Area and appointments to various boards, commissions and committees until the February meeting.

Current Morning Briefing Logo

Stay CURRENT with our daily newsletter (M-F) and breaking news alerts delivered to your inbox for free!

Select list(s) to subscribe to

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Current Publishing, 30 S. Range Line Road, Carmel, IN, 46032, You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact