Quakenbush will be the county’s new sheriff


Republican Dennis Quakenbush will replace Hamilton County Sheriff Mark Bowen, who could not run again because of Indiana term limits for sheriffs, in 2019 to serve a four-year term.

Quakenbush rose to the top of a group of four Republican candidates in the May primary election, beating Bill Clifford, Eddie Moore and Mitch Russell. On Nov. 6, Quakenbush defeated Democrat Jason Straw and Libertarian Dorn Brenton.

By the end of election night, Quakenbush received 82,499 votes (59.95 percent), compared to Straw’s 48,810 votes (35.9 percent) and Brenton’s 4,663 votes (3.43 votes).

“I have been honored to serve on the Hamilton County Sheriff’s Dept. for over 16 years,” stated Quakenbush, who serves as the captain of the patrol division for the HCSO. “During that time, as patrol commander for almost eight years. With that, I am humbled to have received the news that I will be your next sheriff of Hamilton County.”

Quakenbush said serving under both Sheriff Doug Carter and Sheriff Mark Bowen played a major role in preparing him for the role.

“Over the past year, I have had hundreds of volunteers come forward and help the ‘Push For Quakenbush,’ he stated. “It is difficult to put into words just how much this means to my family and I. Thousands of hours have been volunteered on my behalf, and I couldn’t be more thankful.”


Current Morning Briefing Logo

Stay CURRENT with our daily newsletter (M-F) and breaking news alerts delivered to your inbox for free!

Select list(s) to subscribe to

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Current Publishing, 30 S. Range Line Road, Carmel, IN, 46032, https://www.youarecurrent.com. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact