MSD of Lawrence Township Merit Finalists


Earlier this week, the College Board announced the 2014 National Merit Finalists. The National Merit Scholarship Program is open to U.S. high school students who take the PSAT/NMSQT in their junior year of high school and meet other entry requirements. This year, the MSD of Lawrence Township had a total of twelve semi-finalists, more than any other school district in Marion County. Five attend Lawrence Central (LC) and seven attend Lawrence North (LN). All seven were advanced to the finalist round.

Lawrence Central:

Joshua Hoffer, Colin McCarthy, Elaina Roach,  Sarah Rodenbeck, Connor Ward

Lawrence North:

Joseph Byerly, Zachary Davidson, Samuel Knotts, David Miller, Sophia Muston, John Ogorek, Gabriel Wray

“We are so proud of the incredible achievements of these young people. They truly exemplify the excellence in Lawrence Township,” said Dana Altemeyer, coordinator of communications, marketing and PR for the Metropolitan School District of Lawrence Township