Zionsville Fire Dept. presents annual awards


The Zionsville Fire Dept. presented the ZFD Firefighter’s Awards Program April 16 to recognize several of its members for achievements in the past year.

Award winners are:

  • Jeremy Anker, Probationary Firefighter of the Year
  • Ben Shircliff, EMT of the Year
  • Tre Schmitt, Paramedic of the Year
  • Benji Johnson, Cody Richardson Memorial Firefighter of the Year

Firefighter/EMT Cody Seymour received the Zionsville Professional Firefighters Leadership Award for leadership and integrity.

A Unit Commendation was awarded to a team of individuals that responded to a vehicle accident with multiple patients. Because of the responders’ swift actions and working with skill in their actions as a team, the accident survivors were met with a favorable outcome.

The responders recognized are:

  • Firefighter/paramedic Tad Henderson
  • Firefighter John Ball
  • Firefighter Benji Johnson
  • Firefighter/paramedic Joey Goltz
  • Firefighter/paramedic Justin Spivey
  • Firefighter Sam Alley
  • Engineer Ryan Luttrull
  • Firefighter Nathan Oakes
  • Capt. Brian Miller
  • Firefighter Dustin Campins
  • Firefighter Matt Mellencamp
  • Battalion Chief Lance Turner

ZFD Chief James VanGorder recognized Lt. Jeff Beam as the first full-time member to retire from the department.



Current Morning Briefing Logo

Stay CURRENT with our daily newsletter (M-F) and breaking news alerts delivered to your inbox for free!

Select list(s) to subscribe to

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: . You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact