Candidates set for May primary


The field of candidates running for county, state and federal offices is complete. Candidates had until Feb. 7 to file to run for office.

Candidates in state and county races in Carmel are (* denotes incumbent):

Congressional 5th District

  • Jennifer Christie (D)
  • Christina Hale (D)
  • Andy Jacobs (D)
  • Ralph Spelbring (D)
  • Dee Thornton (D)
  • Kent Abernathy (R)
  • Andrew Bales (R)
  • Micah Beckwith (R)
  • Carl Brizzi (R)
  • Allen R. Davidson (R)
  • Chuck Dietzen (R)
  • Beth Henderson (R)
  • Matthew (Matt) Hook (R)
  • Matthew Hullinger (R)
  • Kelly Maureen Mitchell (R)
  • Danny Niederberger (R)
  • Mark Small (R)
  • Victoria Spartz (R)
  • Russell H. Stwalley (R)
  • Victor Wakley (R)

State Senator District 30

  • Fady Qaddoura (D)
  • Terry Michael (R)
  • John C. Ruckelshaus* (R)

State Representative District 39

  • Mark Hinton (D)
  • Ashley Klein (D)
  • Jerry Torr* (R)


  • Eric Holcomb* (R)
  • Brian D. Roth (R)
  • Woodrow (Woody) Myers (D)

County auditor

  • Robin M. Mills* (R)

County treasurer

  • Kim Good (R)
  • Susan Byer (R)

County surveyor

  • Kenton C. Ward* (R)

County commissioner District 2

  • Mark Heirbrandt* (R)

County council at-large (vote for three)

  • Ralph F. (Rick) McKinney* (R)
  • Brandon (Brad) Beaver* (R)
  • Sue Maki (R)
  • Jeff Hern* (R)
  • Steven R. Nation (R)
  • Lyneen Burrow (R)
  • John Ditslear (R)
  • Tony Scott (R)
  • Gardiner P. Bink III (D)

Current Morning Briefing Logo

Stay CURRENT with our daily newsletter (M-F) and breaking news alerts delivered to your inbox for free!

Select list(s) to subscribe to

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Current Publishing, 30 S. Range Line Road, Carmel, IN, 46032, You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact