Zionsville honors teachers of the year


By Desiree Williams

Zionsville Community Schools honored its Teachers of the Year before the May 13 school board meeting with a reception and awards ceremony. Teachers were nominated by peers and selected by a committee of community members.

From left, Board President Joe Stein, Stonegate Elementary Principal Connie Largent, third-grade teacher Liz Lauer-Jones and Supt. Scott Robison. (Photo by Desiree Williams)

Honorees include:

  • Sarah Kiel – First grade at Boone Meadow Elementary
  • Katie McLaughlin – Elementary resource at Eagle Elementary
  • Kristin Dawson – Special education/resource K-2 at Pleasant View Elementary
  • Liz Lauer-Jones – Third grade at Stonegate Elementary
  • Shelly Steward – First grade at Union Elementary
  • Jeremy Skura – Fifth grade Math and Science at Zionsville Middle School
  • Liz Ferrand – Sixth grade Math at Zionsville West Middle School
  • Christina Waldron – Spanish 3 and 4 honors at Zionsville Community High School

Liz Lauer-Jones also won District Teacher of the Year, allowing her to represent ZCS for the Dept. of Education’s State Teacher of the Year determination.

In addition, Deb Andrus celebrated retirement after 19 years as a special education teacher at Union Elementary.

Current Morning Briefing Logo

Stay CURRENT with our daily newsletter (M-F) and breaking news alerts delivered to your inbox for free!

Select list(s) to subscribe to

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Current Publishing, 30 S. Range Line Road, Carmel, IN, 46032, https://www.youarecurrent.com. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact