O’Connor seeking re-election to Noblesville Common Council


Greg O’Connor, a 10-year member of the Noblesville Common Council, announced today he will seek another four-year term in the May primary election.

Representing District 5, O’Connor is a 30-year resident of Noblesville and has been president of the council twice, is the chair of the Finance Committee, is an Economic Development Committee member, and is a member of the Noblesville Plan Commission as a council liaison.

According to a statement from O’Connor, his accomplishments of the past 10 years include:

● Bringing Ivy Tech to Noblesville

● Working with the city’s financial controller to collaborate on accounting system changes and transparency

● Engaging with new and existing employers to bring more than 2,000 new jobs to Noblesville

● Supporting the construction of both the Midland Trace Trail extension and Little Chicago Road Trail

● Collaborating with the city engineer on completion of two new roundabouts at Greenfield, Christian and 10th streets, and 19th and Pleasant streets

● Working with the economic development department to bring Borg Warner to Noblesville and construct improvements to 141st Street

Professionally, O’Connor is the senior vice president and director for BMO Harris Bank.

“For me, making a true difference takes dedication, teamwork and spending time listening to the community,” O’Connor stated. “With my experience in the business community, and as a councilman, I intend to move Noblesville forward and contribute to its legacy.”

He also serves as a Riverview Health Foundation board member, Noblesville Chamber of Commerce Business Advisory member, Noblesville Schools Miller Ambassador, Noblesville Schools Education Foundation life member, and a Community Health Network Foundation Advisory Board member.

O’Connor is married to Teena. They both are graduates of Butler University. They have two children, Kerry and Evan, both Noblesville High School graduates.

The primary election will take place May 7, followed by the general election on Nov. 5.

All seats on the Noblesville Common Council are up for grabs, next year for terms that will begin January 2020 and end in December 2023.

Official candidate filing doesn’t begin until January, and no other candidate has announced their intention to run in District 5.

Pete Schwartz recently announced he will seek the District 2 seat, which is being made vacant by Councilor Chris Jensen, who is running for mayor. In District 4, Councilor Wil Hampton announced he will seek a second term. Recently elected by a special caucus, Councilor Darren Peterson is seeking re-election next year to hold on to his at-large seat.

Councilors Brian Ayer (at-large), Mark Boice (at-large), Roy Johnson (District 1), Rick Taylor (District 3) and Megan Wiles (District 6) have not yet announced re-election bids.

Current Morning Briefing Logo

Stay CURRENT with our daily newsletter (M-F) and breaking news alerts delivered to your inbox for free!

Select list(s) to subscribe to

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Current Publishing, 30 S. Range Line Road, Carmel, IN, 46032, You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact