Ditslear holds seat with 908 votes over opponent


By Sadie Reecer

By 9:15 p.m. on May 5, the 27 contested Republican candidates of the Noblesville Primary Election knew where they stood.

Coming down to 908 ballots, Noblesville voters chose John Ditslear to serve a fourth term over his opponent Mike Corbett, who he ran against in 2011.

Common Council candidates had either reclaimed a seat, switched to a new one or joined the council after first-time bids.

With becoming a second-class city and redistricting, voters in Noblesville welcomed a sixth district and an additional at-large seat to round out the common council to nine members.

Two lost their seats on the council.

Incumbent Brian Ayer, District 4 incumbent Mark Boice and former mayor and councilwoman Mary Sue Rowland defeated incumbent Jeff Zeckel for an at-large seat by just 116 votes.

After redistricting, District 2 incumbent Steve Wood ran in District 4, but lost his seat to Wil Hampton by just 80 votes.

In January, new faces to the council will include Chris Jensen, District 2; Wil Hampton, District 4 and Megan Wiles, District 6.

City court judge signs were among the most seen around town, but by the end of the night, Judge Greg Caldwell kept his job over Trenna Parker and Paul Pacior, taking more than 48 percent of the votes.

The only seats that remain to be officially decided are at-large seats, with Democrats Paula Gilliam and Mimi DeMore running against Ayer, Boice and Rowland in November.



J. Ditslear—58.38% (3164 votes)

M. Corbett—41.62% (2256 votes)


City Court Judge

G. Caldwell—48.24% (2446 votes)

T. Parker—35.79% (1815 votes)

P. Pacior—15.97% (810 votes)


Common Council At-Large

M. Boice—22.06% (3210 votes)

B. Ayer—18.35% (2671 votes)

M. Rowland—16.6% (2416 votes)

J. Zeckel—15.8% (2300 votes)

D. Johnson—13.04% (1898 votes)

P. Berghoff—11.26% (1639 votes)

R. Ade—2.89% (420 votes)


Common Council District 1

R. Johnson—62.44% (733 votes)

H. Cole—37.56% (441 votes)


Common Council District 2

C. Jensen—71.77% (694 votes)

M. Leach—19.65% (190 votes)

P. Barts—8.58% (83 votes)


Common Council District 3

R. Taylor—52.24% (419 votes)

G. Duvall—30.8% (247 votes)

D. Carter—16.96% (136 votes)


Common Council District 4

W. Hampton—42.25% (458 votes)
S. Wood—34.87% (378 votes)

D. Peterson—22.88% (248 votes)


Common Council District 6

M. Wiles—62.89% (283 votes)
S. Brady—37.11% (167 votes)

Current Morning Briefing Logo

Stay CURRENT with our daily newsletter (M-F) and breaking news alerts delivered to your inbox for free!

Select list(s) to subscribe to

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Current Publishing, 30 S. Range Line Road, Carmel, IN, 46032, https://www.youarecurrent.com. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact