Gov. Pence’s appeal means Hamilton County will get aid for January storm


Staff report

Nine additional counties will receive federal grants for the extreme winter storm that severely affected much of the state from Jan. 5 through Jan. 9 this year.



Originally FEMA had only allowed aid to 19 Indiana counties, but Gov. Mike Pence’s office appealed that decision.

The additional counties granted public assistance by FEMA are Blackford, Clinton, Fulton, Hamilton, Johnson, LaGrange, Marion, Montgomery and Vanderburgh. All of these counties, except Vanderburgh, will also receive 48 hours of snow assistance.

FEMA Public Assistance grants will pay 75 percent of eligible expenses for damage to roads, bridges, utilities, debris removal, buildings’ contents and equipment, water control facilities, parks and recreational facilities, and others, as well as emergency protective measures like traffic control and rescue operations.

“This continues to be good financial news for cities and towns in these counties,” said Gov. Pence. “Federal grants mean millions of dollars replenishing local budgets.”

The Indiana Department of Homeland Security will work with FEMA and local agencies to document allowable expenses.


Current Morning Briefing Logo

Stay CURRENT with our daily newsletter (M-F) and breaking news alerts delivered to your inbox for free!

Select list(s) to subscribe to

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Current Publishing, 30 S. Range Line Road, Carmel, IN, 46032, You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact