Snapshots: Second Annual Carmel Marathon


Rommel Mayuga, left, and Chris Vijitchanton, right, traveled from Chicago to compete in the marathon.

Cool temperatures and overcast skies didn’t stop more than 1,500 runners from completing the second annual Carmel Marathon and Half-Marathon last Saturday.

Indianapolis resident Jesse Davis was the overall champion with a time of 2:22:05. The female champion was Leah Thorvilson, of Little Rock,Ark., with a time of 2:42:13.

Women’s marathon winner Leah Thorvilson, left, with overall marathon champion Jesse Davis, right.

Contestants came from around the nation, and in at least one case, from around the world, to compete in the marathon, which was a qualifier for the Boston Marathon, held every year in April.

Among those traveling contestants were Rommel Mayuga, 33, and Chris Vijitchanton, 29, of Chicago, who ran a 3:36:00 and a 3:29:40, respectively.

“This is one of my favorite marathons,” said Mayuga. “It’s probably one of the best I’ve done. Everyone is very friendly and supportive. One of the best things is when someone announces your name at the end. In a lot of the big marathons, you just get lost in the crowd.”

The men said they have competed in marathons from Napa Valley, Calif., to the Twin Cities Marathon.

“We have very busy career lives, and running is an escape,” said Mayuga. “It’s kind of a time to meditate. It’s the best escape I can think of. Then, as you do a couple of marathons, you kind of get addicted.”

Eric Seal crosses the Carmel Marathon finish line April 21 with a time of 3:40:15.

A complete listing of runners and results is available online at

Men’s Marathon Champions

  • 1. Jesse Davis 2:22:05
  • 2. David Mart 2:27:13
  • 3. Jared Rothlauf 2:29:34
  • 4. Justin Gillete 2:34:11
  • 5. Andy Hass 2:39:30

Women’s Marathon Champions

  • 1. Leah Thorvilson 2:42:13
  • 2. Melissa Gillette 3:02:25
  • 3. Laurissa Dalrymple 3:07:37
  • 4. Melissa Hendrix 3:20:56
  • 5. Lauren Shirey 3:21:13

Men’s Half-Marathon Champions

  • 1. Mike Popejoy 1:06:29
  • 2. Matt Levassiur 1:07:25
  • 3. Aaron Apathy 1:11:26
  • 4. Bryan Phillips 1:11:38
  • 5. Timothy Budic 1:11:50

Women’s Half-Marathon Champions

  • 1. Mariska Kramer 1:16:50
  • 2. Rebecca Ebersole 1:31:13
  • 3. Monika Stupian 1:32:00
  • 4. Melissa Bandy 1:32:38
  • 5. Julie Nelson 1:33:17

Current Morning Briefing Logo

Stay CURRENT with our daily newsletter (M-F) and breaking news alerts delivered to your inbox for free!

Select list(s) to subscribe to

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Current Publishing, 30 S. Range Line Road, Carmel, IN, 46032, You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact