Council names president, appointees


Rick Sharp will run the City Council’s meetings in 2012.

Monday the council named Sharp its president for 2012. He takes the position of councilor and 2011 president Eric Seidensticker. Sharp last served as the council president in 2010.

The council also made its appointments to various city commissions, including:

– Keeping Jim Hawkins on the Board of Zoning Appeals through 2015
– Keeping Councilman Kevin Rider on the Plan Commission through 2015
– Keeping David Bowers and Brad Meyer on the Carmel Redevelopment Commission through 2012

The council did not nominate an appointee to the Ethics Commission, and thus set this appointment aside until the next scheduled meeting.